Wednesday, December 5, 2012

Let's Talk Tiburon in Naples Florida!!!
I am... Your Tiburon Expert for all Resale and New Construction Homes at Tiburon!
Contact me today about your move to Tiburon and enjoy the Shootout on me!
239.404.7787 or by e-mail at
Open House daily from 1:00 to 4:00 at Bolero, Castillo and Marsala!!!

2012 Franklin Templeton Shootout Tournament Notes Below!!!

NAPLES, Fla. (December 3, 2012) – For the 12th consecutive year, the Franklin Templeton Shootout comes to Southwest Florida and 24 individuals will compete as 12 two-man teams. The event is celebrating its 24th year on the PGA TOUR calendar. Here are some notes regarding what has become a favorite annual gathering for professionals and amateurs:
2012 PGA TOUR Champions: Ten of the players in the field have won in 2012: Keegan Bradley, Mark Calcavecchia (Champions Tour), Jason Dufner, Rickie Fowler, Dustin Johnson, Kenny Perry (Champions Tour), Carl Pettersson, Ian Poulter, Brandt Snedeker and Steve Stricker. Dufner and Snedeker are multiple 2012 winners, giving this group a total of twelve wins this year.
Major Champions: Eight players have won major championship titles during their careers—Keegan Bradley, Mark Calcavecchia, Stewart Cink, Justin Leonard, Davis Love III, Greg Norman, Vijay Singh and Mike Weir.
Total # of PGA TOUR Victories: As a group, the 24 players in the field have accumulated 183 PGA TOUR victories during their respective careers. Vijay Singh leads in individual titles with 34 while Greg Norman and Davis Love III have 20 each.
World Rankings: Six players in the field are ranked among the top 20 in the world—Jason Dufner (8), Brandt Snedeker (10), Ian Poulter (12), Steve Stricker (14), Keegan Bradley (15) and Dustin Johnson (19).
Ryder Cup: With this being a Ryder Cup year, it is worth noting that seven individuals in the field this week participated in the biennial match between the U.S. and Europe teams in late September. Competing this week from the U.S. Team will be Davis Love III, the U.S. Team Captain, along with Keegan Bradley, Jason Dufner, Dustin Johnson, Brandt Snedeker and Steve Stricker. Representing the winning European Team is Ian Poulter. Scott Verplank was one of Love’s assistant captains.
Top-Five Finishes: Host Greg Norman and Mark O’Meara share the all-time record for the most top-five finishes by individuals in the Shootout with nine each. The team with the most top-five finishes in tournament history is O’Meara and Curtis Strange. This twosome accumulated five solid performances between 1989 and 1996 including a victory in the inaugural Shootout.
International Flavor: Seven different countries will be represented this week at the Franklin Templeton Shootout—Australia, Canada, England, Fiji, South Africa, Sweden and United States.
States Represented: Looking at the birthplace of all 24 players, here are the states represented this week—Alabama, California (2), Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Nebraska, Ohio, South Carolina, Tennessee, Vermont and Wisconsin (2).
Double-Defending Champions: For the first time in Shootout history, two teams will be defending a title this week, per se. 2011 champions Keegan Bradley and Brendan Steele are back to defend in a normal calendar year. Meanwhile, 2010 champions Ian Poulter and Dustin Johnson are also returning as a team after missing last year due to scheduling conflicts by both players.
First-Time Shootout Participants: Five individuals will be competing in their first Shootout: Bud Cauley, Carl Pettersson, Vijay Singh, Brandt Snedeker and Fredrik Jacobson.
First Time As Teammates: Eight of the 12 teams in this year’s shootout will be together for the first time—Greg Norman & Fredrik Jacobson, Jason Dufner & Vijay Singh, Stewart Cink & Carl Pettersson, Davis Love III & Brandt Snedeker, Bud Cauley & Rickie Fowler, Charles Howell III & Rory Sabbatini, Mark Calcavecchia & Mike Weir and Sean O’Hair & Kenny Perry.
Repeat Pairings: Four teams in this year’s Shootout have been paired together prior to this year. Jerry Kelly and Steve Stricker, both born in Wisconsin, will be playing together for the fifth straight year. This twosome won in 2009. Justin Leonard and Scott Verplank, both born in Texas, will be paired for the fourth time in the past six years. In 2006, they lost in a playoff and in 2009 finished tied for second. Keegan Bradley and Brandon Steele compete as defending champions. 2010 champions Dustin Johnson and Ian Poulter are also together again.
Most Partners: Mark Calcavecchia will be playing with his 12th different partner. Calcavecchia has only played with four competitors more than once—Steve Elkington, Andrew Magee, Loren Roberts and Woody Austin. On the flip-side, tournament host Greg Norman has played with the same partner a total of 16 times--Jack Nicklaus (3), Nick Price (2), Raymond Floyd (2), Steve Elkington (7) and Scott McCarron (2).
Rookie Winners: Only nine players have won the Franklin Templeton Shootout in their first attempt: Mark O’Meara (1989), Curtis Strange (1989), Fred Couples (1990), Scott McCarron (1997), Hank Kuehne (2003), Rod Pampling (2006), Woody Austin (2007), Keegan Bradley (2011) and Brendan Steele (2011).
Margin of Victory: Historically, the Franklin Templeton Shootout has always been a close competition. In the past 23 years, there have been four playoffs, seven victories by one stroke and six wins by two strokes. In fact, since the tournament moved to Naples, the margin of victory has only been greater than two strokes twice--last year when Keegan Bradley and Brendan Steele won by three and when Scott Hoch and Kenny Perry won by four in 2008.

No comments: